top of page

Day Eighteen of the Cross Country Trip

On Day 18, we woke up at 5:30, and Connor drove to where google told us Paradise Cove was. I was totally unable to fall asleep, so I simply watched two episodes of House of Cards then felt the urge to explore. I climbed this mountain/hill thing made of a bunch of boulder like rocks. It was extremely entertaining to climb around, and when I got to the top I realized I had tremendous service, so I gave my brother a ring. We talked for about an hour, then I called to wake the boys up. After I called, I just took off to explore the surrounding area. This was a great expedition, and I was able to get a beautiful view of the cove, even though I really didn't think it was the cove. I also had not wanted to put my shoes on, so my feet were feeling it after the climb. We climbed back down to the car, and asked some locals if this was the place. They said yeah they were about to go, so we were like oh cool let's do it. Turns out there was a cleared trail and I didn't need to do all that climbing, but it was worth it. The cove was pretty pretty, but not as cool as Hippie Hole in my opinion. We jumped and talked with them, then began the long drive to St Louis, to sleep at Alex's once more. Connor started off the drive and then we stopped at a subway right before the border of Kansas. I got a foot long and was very excited to have food other than our Kroger’s. We refilled water and then I drove. Kansas was not a good time. Definitely my least favorite state, not much to offer except corn. This was definitely the most boring drive, but I did cross into another time zone, so my record in still in good standing. I wanted this drive to be over as fast as possible, so I was slightly speeding, at 12 over, there just was not anything to see. Unfortunately, as I was absolutely in highway hypnosis, I did not see a state trooper that I drove right on past. He of course pulled me over, which was a first for me. He asked for my license and insurance instead of license and registration which really threw us all for a loop. Maybe it's a Kansas thing, who knows? Anyway, he took his sweet time back at his car while I accepted the fact I was getting a ticket. To my pleasant surprise, I was only given a written warning. What a nice guy. So now I will definitely get one the next time I'm pulled over but hey he cut me a break and I respect him for it. Anyway so I drove very responsibly and lawfully after this incident. For a couple miles. Then Danny played "X gonna give it to ya" by DMX, and I couldn't help but going crazy. I was dancing extremely noticeably as I sped right by two more state troopers. My heart dropped as I saw him pull out of the median area and onto the road. I of course immediately slowed down and straightened up, and was so relieved when I saw him speed past me and pull somebody different over. Again, what a nice guy. At this point, I was driving so that I could beat Marks record of longest drive, of five hours from Yosemite to San Fran. I got about 6 in, then was 100% ready to stop driving. I watched House of Cards and then just jammed out for Marks drive to keep him awake, and we arrived at Alex's around 1:30. That time change was a killer. We showered and hung with her, until about 3:30 when we fell fast asleep.

bottom of page